tony hale test

music that's Lola approved.

One To Watch: Mr. Sipp “The Mississppi Blues Child”

ed4355c2e9b2e6997c49aa2dc5b51d0a
There are artists who transcend the expectations of everyone and break the molds of formulaic genres. Enter Mr. Sipp “The Mississippi Blues Child”. While I’ve never been one to say I love the blues, I do love music backed with a performer’s heart.

Last weekend, my family went to the Hot Springs Blues Festival where my 8 year old asked me what “the blues” were. (Take a minute and try to explain that one to yourself for a second.) Pretty sure I explained it as music that is backed with a lot of emotion where the songs typically deal with things that upset the singer and they have to let that emotion out or they’ll bust. I explained she should be able to feel really good blues. Boy was I in for a surprise. The first band we heard was Mr. Sipp “The Mississippi Blues Child”.

Just one song in, and both my wife and I were asking who’s this? The energy and heart that was pouring out was insane. Then during his set he took out into the audience to play literally among the people
IMG_1992

He was in his element playing right there in front, beside, and all around people. The level that he was on was at an eleven. He even came over to me and my girls during his solo and cut the band off where he proceeded to serenade them with an impromptu Twinkle Twinkle Little Star before going right back into the song.

It was a crazy good show, which I highly recommend catching if he’s near you. He won last year’s International Blues Challenge (IBC) and was runner up the year before. I got a chance to talk to him after his show where he told me his band was together only 3 weeks before entering 2013’s IBC where he was runner up. He said the band only knew four songs then, and the crowd wanted an encore. These guys are truly on another level. Even the drummer said when they practice his level is always at a ten and that the rest of the band has to bring it just to match him.

Hit the jump to see more videos of Mr. Sipp including his winning performance at the 2014 International Blues Challenge.


The Winning performance from Mr. Sipp in the finals at the 2014 IBC!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2014 by in blues, concert, live, one to watch and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 134 other followers

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,006 hits
Follow tony hale test on WordPress.com
