tony hale test

music that's Lola approved.

Get Lucky And Stream New Daft Punk Album Random Access Memories


The album’s been available to stream since the 13th. I just haven’t had any internet. See what you think.

stream it here

Here’s a track by track review from

1. Give Life Back To Music – The Daft Punk “Welcome Back!” party kicks off with Nile Rodgers turning back the clock and decisively rejecting anything resembling contemporary electronic music. “Give Life Back To Music” confirms that “Get Lucky” was not a red herring, but a hint at the celebratory 70s vibe pulsing through the veins of “Random Access Memories.”

2. The Game of Love – The album’s recurring formula of big drums, sleek guitar moves and programmed vocals is dutifully presented in a patient, down-tempo package. As interesting as the production details are, it’s hard not to imagine what “The Game of Love” would have sounded like with an R&B vocalist breathing humanity into these words.

3. Giorgio by Moroder – An interesting idea — Italian dance king Giorgio Moroder talks about his various music experiences and tricks of the trade before Daft Punk take the reins and pump the jams — is harder to swallow when pinned as the longest song and crucial third track of the album. A better tribute would have been a more cohesive song.

4. Within – “There are so many things that I don’t understand,” a forlorn little robot voice laments, in an A.I. ballad that sounds like a disco-fied version of the “Kid A” title track. Questions of identity abound as a simple piano line strolls forward.

5. Instant Crush feat. Julian Casablancas – Two months after the Strokes released its most experimental album to date, frontman Julian Casablancas joins DP and pairs a human-ish voice to a driving rock arrangement. With a fair amount of Vocoder dabbed into his vocals, Casablancas sounds revitalized hiding away from his iconic warble, as the dance track finds slick groove without ever becoming propulsive.

6. Lose Yourself To Dance feat. Pharrell Williams – Two tracks before “Get Lucky” strolls into views, its natural B-side featuring the same vocalist shimmies into the middle of the floor. Daft Punk’s voices swirl into a pool of “Come on’s” as the massive beat, flicked-off riff and thundering bass congeal into a fitting ode to sensory pleasures. “Lose Yourself To Dance” is frozen in time, so there’s no shame if you want to break out the Hustle for this one.

7. Touch feat. Paul Williams – The legendary singer-songwriter Paul Williams crystallizes the robots-as-humans aesthetic of Daft Punk on a starry-eyed big band number. At eight minutes, “Touch” carries several gaudy trinkets in the palm of its hand, although its suite of gee-whiz sunniness could probably afford to blast off a little bit sooner.

8. Get Lucky feat. Pharrell Williams – Daft Punk’s radio return — that’s right, it’s actually in the Top 20 of the Hot 100! — is their new album’s breeziest entry: “Get Lucky” rides Nile Rodgers’ chic axe work, an effectively simple hook and clipped robo-breakdown to create a warm, winning throwback. It’s no “One More Time,” but there’s stylish fun even without transcendence.

9. Beyond – Bask in the glow of a 40-second symphonic breakdown before Daft Punk cut that elegance off, introduce a jaunty guitar line prickled by constant cymbal taps, and say things like “There’s no such thing as complication” and “This is the journey of the soul.” “Beyond” ends with an extended jam that should be experienced in a room adorned with many candles. Beyond triply.

10. Motherboard – An exceedingly ambitious instrumental: flutes run around the scattered rhythms, acoustic finger-picking sprouts out of drum rolls, strings are jammed into the action and the arrangement eventually evaporates into become a cloud of something far more sinister. Serenity is eventually reached, but not before multiple other worlds are unearthed.

11. Fragments of Time feat. Todd Edwards – Fans of “Face To Face” on “Discovery” will likely adore Daft Punk’s new collaboration with Edwards, who plays the grinning captain on this glittery voyage. “Fragments of Time” sounds like the theme song to a classic 80s sitcom, which is a huge compliment — “Turning our days into melodies!” Edwards beams as the synthesizers induce smiles.

12. Doin’ It Right feat. Panda Bear – A Daft Punk song and a Panda Bear song are mashed together like a PBJ sandwich, as the Animal Collective member’s folky yelping is folded neatly onto a digital stomp from the DP guys. “Doin’ It Right” presents a fascinating contrast, although, oddly enough, Panda Bear’s earnest cries are more successful than the tiresome mechanics of the Daft Punk vocals.

13. Contact – An astronaut’s document of Earth sets the stage for an absolutely pummeling sandstorm of a finale, as drums are bashed, organ notes are carelessly consumed and a synth line reaches its manic threshold. Then, the entire thing collapse over and dies, as the listener exits the roller coaster ride and hopes back in line for another go-around.


One comment on “Get Lucky And Stream New Daft Punk Album Random Access Memories

  1. Lucy
    September 15, 2014

    What’s up to every body, it’s my first visit of this
    website; this weblog contains amazing and truly good material for readers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 134 other followers


Blog Stats

  • 39,920 hits
Follow tony hale test on
%d bloggers like this: